PES / Distributor Area 23 – The Yorkshire Electricity area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply. Not your region? try our PES Area search.

The Yorkshire Electricity area covers the following Postcodes

BB 8


BD 1-23

DN 1-12

DN 14-19

DN 31-40

HD 1-8

HU 1-20

HX 1-7

LN 7

LS 1-29
OL 14

S 1-14

S 17-19

S 30-31

S 60-66

S 70-75

WF 1-17

YO 15-16

YO 4

Pes Area 23

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:

  • Derbyshire
  • East Yorkshire
  • Lancashire
  • Lincolnshire
  • North Yorkshire
  • Nottinghamshire
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • West Yorkshire

The towns and cities covered by the Yorkshire Region include:

Alford, Barnetby, Barnoldswick, Barnsley, Barrow-Upon-Humber, Barton-Upon-Humber, Batley, Beverley, Bingley, Bradford, Bridlington, Brigg, Brighouse, Brough, Burnley, Castleford, Chesterfield, Cleckheaton, Cleethorpes, Cottingham, Dewsbury, Doncaster, Driffield, Dronfield, Elland, Filey, Gainsborough, Goole, Grimsby, Halifax, Harrogate, Hebden Bridge, Heckmondwike, Hessle, Holmfirth, Hope Valley, Hornsea, Huddersfield, Hull, Ilkley, Immingham, Keighley, Knottingley, Leeds, Lincoln, Liversedge, Louth, Market Rasen, Mexborough, Mirfield, Nelson, Normanton, North Ferriby, Ossett, Otley, Pontefract, Pudsey, Retford, Rotherham, Scunthorpe, Selby, Settle, Sheffield, Shipley, Skipton-on-Swale, Sowerby Bridge, Tadcaster, Todmorden, Ulceby, Wakefield, Wetherby, Withernsea, Wolverhampton, Worksop, and York.

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 22

Yorkshire Electricity


DNO Name : Yorkshire Electricity Distribution

Owner : Northern Powergrid Holdings
Ultimate Owner : Berkshire Hathaway Energy


Pre-privatisation : Yorkshire Electricity Board

Mar 31 1990 : vested as Yorkshire Electricity Group plc

Dec 11 1990 : floated on stock market

Apr 1 1997 : taken over by AEP and PS Colorado

Jun 15 2000 : AEP merged with CSW

Apr 2 2001 : 94.75% purchased by Innogy

Sep 21 2001 : Innogy swap Yorkshire Electricity Distribution with CE Electric for the supply business of Northern Electric.
Nov 1 2011: CE Electric UK rebranded as Northern Powergrid Holdings