PES / Distributor Area 22 – The SWEB – South Western Electricity area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately, it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply. Not your region? try our PES Area search.

The SWEB area covers the following Postcodes

BA 1-6


BA 16

BS 1-16

BS 18-28

BS 32, 34

BS 99

DT 6-8

EX 1-23

EX 31-3

PL 1-35

TA 1-24

TQ 1-14

TR 1-2

Pes Area 22

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:

  • Cornwall
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • Gloucestershire
  • Isles of Scilly
  • Somerset
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire

The towns and cities covered by the SWEB (South West Electricity) Region include:

Axbridge, Axminster, Banwell, Barnstaple, Bath, Beaminster, Beaworthy, Bideford, Bodmin, Boscastle, Bradford-on-Avon, Braunton, Bridgwater, Bridport, Bristol, Brixham, Bruton, Buckfastleigh, Bude, Budleigh Salterton, Burnham-on-Sea, Callington, Camborne, Camelford, Chard, Cheddar, Chulmleigh, Clevedon, Colyton, Crediton, Crewkerne, Cullompton, Dartmouth, Dawlish, Delabole, Dulverton, Exeter, Exmouth, Falmouth, Fowey, Frome, Glastonbury, Gunnislake, Hayle, Helston, Highbridge, Hinton Saint George, Holsworthy, Honiton, Ilfracombe, Ilminster, Isles Of Scilly, Ivybridge, Kingsbridge, Langport, Launceston, Lifton, Liskeard, Looe, Lostwithiel, Lyme Regis, Lynton, Marazion, Martock, Merriott, Minehead, Montacute, Newquay, Newton Abbot, Okehampton, Ottery Saint Mary, Padstow, Paignton, Par, Penryn, Penzance, Perranporth, Plymouth, Port Isaac, Radstock, Redditch, Redruth, Saint Agnes, Saint Austell, Saint Columb, Saint Ives, Salcombe, Saltash, Seaton, Shepton Mallet, Sidmouth, Somerton, South Brent, South Molton, South Petherton, Stoke-sub-hamdon, Street, Taunton, Tavistock, Teignmouth, Tintagel, Tiverton, Torpoint, Torquay, Torrington, Totnes, Trowbridge, Truro, Umberleigh, Wadebridge, Warminster, Watchet, Wedmore, Wellington, Wells, Westbury, Weston-Super-Mare, Winkleigh, Winscombe, Yelverton, and Yeovil.

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 22

South Western Electricity


DNO Name : Western Power Distribution

Owner : PPL

Ultimate Owner : PPL – US Investor Owned


Pre-privatisation : South Western Electricity Board

Mar 31 1990 : vested as South Western Electricity plc

Dec 11 1990 : floated on stock market

Sep 18 1995 : taken over by Southern Electric International

Jul 1 1996 : Southern sold 25% stake to PPL Global Inc

Jun 18 1996 : PPL stake increased to 51%

Oct 1 1999 : renamed Western Power Distribution