PES / Distributor Area 21 – The Swalec area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply. Not your region? try our PES Area search.

The Swalec area covers the following Postcodes

CF 1-5


CF 7-8

CF 31-48

CF 61-64

CF 83

HR 5

LD 1-8

NP 1-9

NP 16, 44

SA 1-20

SA 31-48

SA 61-73

SY 25

Pes Area 21

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:

  • Brecknockshire
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Ceredigion
  • Cumberland
  • Glamorgan
  • Herefordshire
  • Monmouthshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Pembrokeshire
  • Radnorshire
  • Swansea

The towns and cities covered by the SWALEC (South Wales Electric) Region include:

Aberaeron, Aberdare, Abergavenny, Abertillery, Ammanford, Bargoed, Barry, Blackwood, Boncath, Brecon, Bridgend, Builth Wells, Burry Port, Caerphilly, Caldicot, Cardiff, Cardigan, Carlisle, Carmarthen, Chepstow, Clarbeston Road, Clynderwen, Cowbridge, Crickhowell, Crymych, Cwmbran, Ebbw Vale, Ferndale, Ferryside, Fishguard, Glogue, Goodwick, Haverfordwest, Haverhill, Hengoed, Hereford, Kilgetty, Knighton, Lampeter, Llanarth, Llandeilo, Llandovery, Llandrindod Wells, Llandysul, Llanelli, Llanfyrnach, Llangammarch Wells, Llantwit Major, Llanwrtyd Wells, Llanybydder, Maesteg, Merthyr Tydfil, Milford Haven, Monmouth, Mountain Ash, Narberth, Neath, New Quay, New Tredegar, Newcastle Emlyn, Newport, Pembroke, Pembroke Dock, Penarth, Pencader, Pentre, Pontyclun, Pontypool, Pontypridd, Port Talbot, Porth, Porthcawl, Presteigne, Rhayader, Saundersfoot, Swansea, Tenby, Tonypandy, Tredegar, Treharris, Treorchy, Usk, Wellingborough, Whitland, and Ystrad Meurig.

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 21

South Wales Electricity


DNO Name : Western Power Distribution

Owner : PPL

Ultimate Owner : PPL – US Investor Owned


Pre-privatisation : South Wales Electricity Board

Mar 31 1990 : vested as South Wales Electricity plc

Dec 11 1990 : floated on stock market

Jan 29 1996 : taken over by Welsh Water becoming part of Hyder plc

Feb 17 2000 : renamed Infralec

Sep 15 2000 : Hyder bought by Western Power Distribution
Jan 2001: Rebranded CPD South Wales