PES / Distributor Area 20 – The Southern Electric Area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply. Not your region? try our PES Area search.

The Southern Electric area covers the following Postcodes

BA 7-15


BA 20-22

BH 1-25

BH 31

BN 17-18

DT 1-5

DT 9-11

GU 24

GU 26-35

GU 3

GU 7-20

HP 9-15

OX 1-6

OX 8-14

OX 18, 20

OX 33, 44

PO 1-22

PO 30-41

RG 1-17

RG 21-28

RG 30, 40

RH 14

SL 0-9

SN 1-16

SN 38

SO 14-24

SO 30-32

SO 40-43

SO 45

SO 50-53

Pes Area 20


SP 1-11
TW 1-8
TW 11-19
UB 1-10
W 3-5,
W 7, 13

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:

  • Berkshire
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Dorset
  • Gloucestershire
  • Hampshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • London
  • Middlesex
  • Monmouthshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Somerset
  • Surrey
  • Sussex
  • Wiltshire

The towns and cities covered by the Southern Electric Region include:

Abingdon, Aldershot, Alresford, Alton, Andover, Arundel, Ascot, Ashford, Bagshot, Banbury, Basingstoke, Beaconsfield, Bembridge, Bicester, Billingshurst, Blandford Forum, Bognor Regis, Bordon, Bourne End, Bournemouth, Bracknell, Brentford, Broadstone, Brockenhurst, Calne, Camberley, Carterton, Castle Cary, Chalfont Saint Giles, Cheltenham, Chichester, Chinnor, Chippenham, Chipping Norton, Christchurch, Cirencester, Corsham, Cowes, Cranleigh, Crowthorne, Devizes, Didcot, Dorchester, East Cowes, Eastleigh, Egham, Emsworth, Fareham, Faringdon, Farnborough, Farnham, Feltham, Ferndown, Fleet, Fordingbridge, Freshwater, Gerrards Cross, Gillingham, Godalming, Gosport, Greenford, Guildford, Hampton, Harrow, Haslemere, Havant, Hayes, Hayling Island, Henley-on-Thames, High Wycombe, Hindhead, Hook, Horsham, Hounslow, Hungerford, Isleworth, Iver, Kidlington, Lancing, Lee-on-the-solent, Lightwater, Liphook, Liss, Littlehampton, London, Lymington, Lyndhurst, Maidenhead, Malmesbury, Marlborough, Marlow, Melksham, Midhurst, New Milton, Newbury, Newport, Northolt, Oxford, Petersfield, Petworth, Pewsey, Poole, Portland, Portsmouth, Radstock, Reading, Richmond, Ringwood, Romsey, Ryde, Salisbury, Sandhurst, Sandown, Seaview, Shaftesbury, Shanklin, Shepperton, Sherborne, Slough, Southall, Southampton, Southsea, Staines, Stockbridge, Sturminster Newton, Sunbury-on-thames, Swanage, Swindon, Tadley, Teddington, Templecombe, Tetbury, Thame, Thatcham, Tidworth, Totland Bay, Twickenham, Uxbridge, Ventnor, Verwood, Virginia Water, Wallingford, Wantage, Wareham, Waterlooville, Watlington, West Drayton, Weymouth, Whitchurch, Wimborne, Wincanton, Winchester, Windlesham, Windsor, Witney, Woking, Wokingham, Woodstock, Yarmouth, Yateley, and Yeovil.

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 20

Southern Electric Board


DNO Name : Southern Electric Power Distribution

Owner : Scottish and Southern Energy plc

Ultimate Owner : Scottish and Southern Energy plc – UK publicly



Pre-privatisation : Southern Electricity Board

Mar 31 1990 : vested as Southern Electric plc

Dec 11 1990 : floated on stock market

Dec 14 1998 : merged with Scottish Hydro-Electric plc to form Scottish
and Southern Energy