PES / Distributor Area 18 – The Scottish Power area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately, it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply. Not your region? try our PES Area search.

The Scottish Hydro area covers the following Postcodes

DG 1-14


DG 16

EH 1-49

EH 51-55

FK 1-14

G 11-15

G 1-5

G 20-23

G 31-34

G 40-46

G 51-53

G 58

G 60-79

G 81-82
KA 1-26

KA 29, 30

KY 1-12

KY 14-16

ML 1-12

PA 1-19

TD 1-15

Pes Area 18

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:

  • Argyllshire
  • Ayrshire
  • Berwickshire
  • Buteshire
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • Dumfriesshire
  • Dunbartonshire
  • East Lothian
  • Edinburgh
  • Fife
  • Kinross-Shire
  • Kirkcudbrightshire
  • Lanarkshire
  • Midlothian
  • Northumberland
  • Peeblesshire
  • Renfrewshire
  • Roxburghshire
  • Scottish Borders
  • Selkirkshire
  • South Ayrshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • Stirling
  • Stirlingshire
  • Tweeddale
  • West Lothian
  • Wigtownshire

The towns and cities covered by the Scottish Power Region include:

Airdrie, Alloa, Alva, Annan, Anstruther, Ardrossan, Arrochar, Ayr, Bathgate, Beith, Bellshill, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Biggar, Bishopton, Bo’ness, Bonnybridge, Bonnyrigg, Bridge Of Weir, Broxburn, Burntisland, Cairndow, Campbeltown, Canonbie, Carluke, Castle Douglas, Clydebank, Coatbridge, Cockburnspath, Colintraive, Cornhill-on-Tweed, Cowdenbeath, Cumnock, Cupar, Currie, Dalbeattie, Dalkeith, Dalmally, Dalry, Darvel, Denny, Dollar, Dumbarton, Dumfries, Dunbar, Dunfermline, Dunoon, Duns, Earlston, East Linton, Edinburgh, Erskine, Eyemouth, Falkirk, Galashiels, Galston, Girvan, Glasgow, Glenrothes, Gordon, Gorebridge, Gourock, Grangemouth, Greenock, Gretna, Gullane, Haddington, Hamilton, Hawick, Helensburgh, Heriot, Humbie, Innerleithen, Inveraray, Irvine, Isle Of Arran, Isle Of Bute, Isle Of Cumbrae, Isle Of Mull, Jedburgh, Johnstone, Kelso, Kilbirnie, Kilmacolm, Kilmarnock, Kilwinning, Kinross, Kirkcaldy, Kirkcudbright, Kirkliston, Kirknewton, Lanark, Langholm, Larbert, Largs, Larkhall, Lasswade, Lauder, Leven, Linlithgow, Livingston, Loanhead, Lochgelly, Lochgilphead, Lochwinnoch, Lockerbie, London, Mauchline, Maybole, Melrose, Menstrie, Moffat, Motherwell, Musselburgh, Newbridge, Newmilns, Newton Stewart, North Berwick, Oban, Paisley, Pathhead, Peebles, Penicuik, Port Glasgow, Prestonpans, Prestwick, Renfrew, Rosewell, Roslin, Saint Andrews, Saltcoats, Sanquhar, Selkirk, Shotts, Skelmorlie, South Queensferry, Stevenston, Stirling, Stranraer, Strathaven, Tarbert, Tayport, Thornhill, Tighnabruaich, Tillicoultry, Tranent, Troon, Walkerburn, Wemyss Bay, West Calder, West Kilbride, West Linton, and Wishaw.

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 18

Scottish Power


DNO Name : SP Distribution

Owner : Scottish Power UK plc

Ultimate Owner : Spanish energy firm, Iberdrola


Pre-privatisation : South of Scotland Electricity Board

Mar 31 1990 : vested as Scottish Power plc

Jun 18 1991 : floated on stock market
Nov 28 2006: Taken over by Spanish energy firm, Iberdrola