PES / Distributor Area 14 – The Midlands Electricity area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately, it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply. Not your region? try our PES Area search.

The Midlands Electricity area covers the following Postcodes

B 1-21


B 23-38

B 40

B 42-50

B 60-76

B 80

B 90-98

BS 17

CV 36, 37

CW 12

DY 1-14

GL 1-6

GL 50-56

GL 9-20

HR 1-4

HR 6-8
OX 7

OX 15-16

ST 1-21

SY 1-9, 15

TF 1-13

WR 1-15

WS 1-15

WV 1-16

Pes Area 14

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:

  • Ceredigion
  • Cheshire
  • Gloucestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Montgomeryshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Radnorshire
  • Shropshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • Worcestershire

The towns and cities covered by the Midlands Region include:

Aberystwyth, Alcester, Badminton, Banbury, Berkeley, Bewdley, Bilston, Birmingham, Bishops Castle, Bridgnorth, Brierley Hill, Bristol, Broadway, Bromley, Bromsgrove, Bromyard, Broseley, Burntwood, Burton upon Trent, Caersws, Cannock, Cheltenham, Chipping Campden, Church Stretton, Cinderford, Cirencester, Coleford, Congleton, Coventry, Cradley Heath, Craven Arms, Crewe, Droitwich, Drybrook, Dudley, Dursley, Ellesmere, Evesham, Gloucester, Halesowen, Hereford, Kidderminster, Kingswinford, Kington, Knighton, Ledbury, Leek, Leominster, Lichfield, Llanbrynmair, Llanidloes, London, Ludlow, Lydney, Machynlleth, Malpas, Malvern, Market Drayton, Moreton-in-Marsh, Much Wenlock, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Newent, Newport, Newtown, Oldbury, Oswestry, Pershore, Presteigne, Redditch, Ross-on-Wye, Rowley Regis, Rugeley, Shifnal, Shipston-on-Stour, Shrewsbury, Smethwick, Solihull, Southam, Stafford, Stoke-on-trent, Stone, Stonehouse, Stourbridge, Stourport-on-Severn, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stroud, Studley, Sutton Coldfield, Telford, Tenbury Wells, Tetbury, Tewkesbury, Tipton, Walsall, Warwick, Wednesbury, Welshpool, West Bromwich, Willenhall, Wolverhampton, Worcester, Wotton-under-Edge, and Ystrad Meurig.

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 14

Midlands Electricity


DNO Name : Western Power Distribution
Ultimate Parent : PPL – American publicly quoted


Pre-privatisation : Midlands Electricity Board

Mar 31 1990 : vested as Midlands Electricity plc

Dec 11 1990 : floated on stock market

Jun 7 1996 : taken over by Avon Energy Partners

Mar 20 2000 : renamed GPU Power UK

May 8 2002 : Aquila purchase 79.9% of Avon Energy Partners

May 8 2002 : renamed Aquila Networks
April 2004: Purchased by Eon, formed part of Central Networks
March 2011: Sold to Western Power Distribution