PES / Distributor Area 11 – The East Midlands area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately, it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply. Not your region? try our PES Area search.

The East Midlands area covers the following Postcodes

B 77-79
CV 1-13
CV 21-23
CV 31-35
DE 11-15
DE 1-7
DE 21-24
DE 45
DE 55-56
DE 65
DE 72-75
DN 20-22
LE 1-18
LE 65, 67
LN 1-6
LN 8-13
MK 1-19
MK 43, 46
NG 1-25
NG 31-34
NN 1-18
OX 17
PE 20-25
PE 5-6,
PE 8
Pes Area 11


PE 9-12
S 40-45
S 80-81

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:

  • Bedfordshire
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Derbyshire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Norfolk
  • Northamptonshire
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands

The towns and cities covered by the East Midlands Region include:

Alford, Alfreton, Ashbourne, Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Atherstone, Bakewell, Banbury, Bedford, Bedworth, Belper, Boston, Bourne, Brackley, Buckingham, Burton upon Trent, Chesterfield, Coalville, Corby, Coventry, Daventry, Derby, Doncaster, Downham Market, Dronfield, Grantham, Heanor, Henley-in-Arden, Hinckley, Hope Valley, Horncastle, Ilkeston, Kenilworth, Kettering, Leamington Spa, Leicester, Leighton Buzzard, Lincoln, London, Loughborough, Lutterworth, Mablethorpe, Mansfield, Market Harborough, Market Rasen, Matlock, Melton Mowbray, Milton Keynes, Newark, Newport Pagnell, Northampton, Nottingham, Nuneaton, Oakham, Olney, Peterborough, Retford, Ripley, Rugby, Rushden, Sheffield, Shipston-on-Stour, Skegness, Sleaford, Southam, Southwell, Spalding, Spilsby, Stamford, Stone, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Swadlincote, Tamworth, Towcester, Uttoxeter, Warwick, Wellingborough, Wigston, Woodhall Spa, Woodstock and Worksop

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 11

East Midlands Electricity


DNO Name: East Midlands Electricity

Owner: Western Power Distribution

Ultimate Parent: PPL – American publicly quoted


Pre-privatisation: East Midlands Electricity Board

Mar 31 1990: vested as East Midlands Electricity plc
Dec 11 1990: floated on the stock market
Jan 10 1997: taken over by Dominion Resources
Jul 27 1998: sold to PowerGen
January 2002: Powergen acquired by Eon
April 2004: Rebranded as Central Networks
March 2011: Sold to Western Power Distribution