PES Distributor Area 10 – The Eastern area

Which PES / Distribution area you are in has a significant effect on your energy charges. This applies to standing charges, availability charges as well as unit rates. Unfortunately, it’s also something you can’t change, short of moving your business. It also dictates who you will need to contact to upgrade or downgrade your supply or if you are looking for a new supply.

The Eastern area covers the following Postcodes

AL 1-10
CB 1-11
CM 0-24
CO 1-16
E 4
EN 1-11
HA 0-9
HP 16-23
HP 27
HP 1-8
IG 10
IP 1-33
LU 1-7
MK 40-42
MK 44-45
N 17-18
N 21-22
N 2-4, 6
N 8-15
NR 1-35
NW 2, 4, 7
N 9, 11
PE 13-19
PE 1-4, 7
PE 30-38
RM 1-18
PES Area 10


SG 1-19
SS 0-9
SS 11-17
WD 1-7

These postcodes include all or part the following counties:
  • Bedfordshire
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Essex
  • Hertfordshire
  • London
  • Middlesex
  • Norfolk
  • Northamptonshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Suffolk
The towns and cities covered by the Eastern Region include:

Abbots Langley, Aldeburgh, Alston, Amersham, Arlesey, Attleborough, Aylesbury, Baldock, Barking, Barnet, Basildon, Beccles, Bedford, Benfleet, Berkhamsted, Biggleswade, Billericay, Bishop’s Stortford, Borehamwood, Braintree, Brandon, Brentwood, Broxbourne, Bungay, Buntingford, Bures, Bury Saint Edmunds, Bushey, Cambridge, Canvey Island, Chatteris, Chelmsford, Chesham, Chester, Clacton-on-Sea, Colchester, Cromer, Dagenham, Dereham, Diss, Downham Market, Dunmow, Dunstable, Edgware, Ely, Enfield, Epping, Eye, Fakenham, Felixstowe, Frinton-on-Sea, Grays, Great Missenden, Great Yarmouth, Greenford, Halesworth, Halstead, Harleston, Harlow, Harpenden, Harrow, Harwich, Hatfield, Haverhill, Hemel Hempstead, Henlow, Hertford, High Wycombe, Hitchin, Hockley, Hoddesdon, Holt, Hornchurch, Hunstanton, Huntingdon, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ipswich, Johnstone, Kings Langley, King’s Lynn, Knebworth, Leigh-on-Sea, Leighton Buzzard, Leiston, Letchworth, Little Walsingham, London, Loughton, Lowestoft, Luton, Maldon, Manningtree, March, Melton Constable, Milton Keynes, Much Hadham, Newmarket, North Walsham, Northwood, Norwich, Olney, Ongar, Peterborough, Pinner, Potters Bar, Princes Risborough, Purfleet, Radlett, Rainham, Rayleigh, Rickmansworth, Rochford, Romford, Royston, Ruislip, Saffron Walden, Saint Albans, Saint Ives, Saint Neots, Sandringham, Sandy, Sawbridgeworth, Saxmundham, Sheffield, Shefford, Sheringham, South Ockendon, Southend-on-Sea, Southminster, Southwold, Stanford-le-Hope, Stanmore, Stansted, Stevenage, Stowmarket, Sudbury, Swaffham, Thame, Thetford, Tilbury, Tring, Upminster, Waltham Abbey, Waltham Cross, Walton On The Naze, Ware, Watford, Wellingborough, Wells-Next-the-Sea, Welwyn, Welwyn Garden City, Wembley, Westcliff-on-Sea, Wickford, Wisbech, Witham, Woodbridge and Wymondham.

If your business is based in this area, we can help save you money on gas and electricity.

History of PES Area 10

Eastern Electricity

DNO Name: Eastern Power Network Distribution
Owner: UK Power Networks
Ultimate Parent: Cheung Kong Infrastructure Holdings, Power Assets Holdings and The Li Ka Shing Foundation
Pre-privatisation: Eastern Electricity
Mar 31 1990: vested as Eastern Electricity plc
Sep 18 1995: Hanson plc takeover
Feb 24 1997: unbundled from Hanson and floated
Sep 1 1998: taken over by TXU Europe
Nov 9 1999: renamed TXU Europe
Jan 18 2002: sold to LE Group
July 2010: Sold to Cheung Kong Infrastructure Holdings, Power Assets Holdings and The Li Ka Shing Foundation
October 2010: UK Power Networks begins operations