Press release: New NDA Non-Executive Directors

By HM Government

Two appointments will start on 01 March 2015, with a further two on 1 June 2015, and will replace Chris Fenton whose terms of office has expired, Murray Easton who stepped down from the Board in March 2013, and two further non-executives who will step down at the end of Feb 2016.

Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, Ed Davey said:

“The new non-executive directors join the NDA Board at an important time. They bring collective experience of leading major businesses, managing complex commercial projects and transformational change as well as programme assurance. This will prove invaluable as the NDA works to embed its new commercial model at Sellafield and continue to make strong progress on its decommissioning mission across the estate.

I would like to offer my thanks to Chris Fenton and Murray Easton for their work and contribution to the NDA over their terms of office. NDA has benefitted hugely from their expert advice.”

The four will join existing non-executive members, Stephen Henwood (chairman), Janette Brown, Patrick Dixon, Tom Smith and Ken McCallum.

Notes to editors

Non-executive board members, appointed by the Secretary of State after consultation with Scottish Ministers, are experts from outside government. They come primarily from the commercial private sector, with experience of managing complex organisations. DECC have recently run a fully open process to appoint these new candidates.

The main functions of non-executive board members are to:

  • Provide advice on performance, operational issues, and on the effective management of the organisation
  • Provide support, guidance and challenge on the implementation of the NDA’s Strategy and Business Plan
  • Form committees responsible for audit, risk, remuneration and safety
  • Share best practice and ensure the NDA learns from the successes and failures of comparable organisations

Non-executive directors will be offered a fee of £25,000 per annum. An additional £7,500 per annum is offered in recognition of the additional responsibilities of sub-committee chairs.

The existing non-executive directors are Tom Smith appointed in February 2013 and Ken McCallum appointed in February 2014. Stephen Henwood was reappointed as Chairman in February 2014. Janette Brown and Patrick Dixon, both appointed in 2010 will serve the remaining one year of their term and step down in 2016.

Non-Executive members typically serve a term of three years. These are routine appointments to replace outgoing (or departed) board members.

Source:: Press release: New NDA Non-Executive Directors